For the first post on PEB I would like to talk about Manny Ramirez and the stupidity that is him.
I myself am a LA Dodgers fan, and have been for as long as I can remember. I was born during the Dodgers World Series victory in October of 1981, my parents were both from LA, so I basically had no choice for my rooting allegiance. I was 7 the next time the Dodgers won the World Series, in 1988, with the likes of Orel Hershiser, Fernando Valenzuela, Steve Sax, Mickey Hatcher, and of course the hero of them all, Kirk Gibson.
Since 1988, I have been praying year in and year out for another chance to go back to the World Series and have been let down every year since. My Nana and myself referred to them as those "Bums," who always seemed to have talent, but never could put it all together. Then Joe Torre showed up and finally the Dodgers had a manager who knew what he was doing, just like Tommy Lasorda (who my Papa looks exactly like. It's uncanny. If I had a picture, I would post it, but take my word for it, they could be twins). Being that I'm a Dodger Fan, and have read every single biography that I could about the Brooklyn Dodgers, I despise the Yankees. But even my hatred for the Evil Empire couldn't dampen my optimism about Torre.
As the season progressed I knew the Dodgers had a lot of young talent, and that Torre was coaching them up right, but we needed a piece to the puzzle. Needed that bat in the lineup that opposing pitchers feared. Enter Manny Ramirez.
I knew Manny was a clubhouse cancer so to speak. He forced himself out of Boston, alienating his former teammates and fans, but that didn't matter to me. I was starving for a winning team, and I knew that Manny was the perfect fit. He seemd like an LA kind of guy. Charismatic, laid back, and Hollywood talented. The addition of the Mannywood section in left field this season proves he was all that and more.
Manny went on a torrid pace, even through the National League Championship Series, galvenizing an entire fan base and team. Hope was restored to me and all Dodger Fans, who had been thirsting for a World Series caliber team since 1988, and we finally had one. Alas it was not to be had in 2008, as the Phillies managed to overcome Manny and the Dodgers (and if Brad Penny could have been healthy, or Clayton Kershaw a year older, things may have been different.)
Then came the offseason and the negotiations with Manny and his agent, Scott Boras, who I absoultely despise, but that's a whole other post. Everyone knew that Manny was going to be a Dodger, no matter what was being said by Boras. Sportscenter continually updated us on the situation, often calling in the expertise of hall of fame analyst Peter Gammons an Buster Olney, who in my opinion is a future hall of fame analyst himself. Each man always stating that no other teams had an interest in Manny, and that Boras was making that up. That Manny was going to be a Dodger, it was just a matter of when.
So in true Boras fashion, he drug out, Manny signed, everyone in LA (and Dodger fans around the world too) were happy. We got our difference maker back for another season, and optimism was through the roof, but always with hint of cynicism, as when you have talented teams, but nothing comes from them in about 20 years, you tend to temper your enthusiasm just a little. But nonetheless, things looked promising and our optimism was proven correct as they came out of the gate on fire, winning 13 games in a row at home.
But then game the Manny Mistake, getting caught for a woman's fertility drug used by many steroid users to restart their bodies natural production of testosterone. He gets suspened for 50 games as everyone knows.
Now most people would naturally think I would hate Manny for being stupid and selfish, and screwing up my team's chances to win it all. However that was not the case. I have never liked Manny, even in his days as a Cleveland Indian or for the Boston Red Sox. I always knew he was selfish and only played for himself. So when the Dodgers obtained him, I knew all that going in, but what I wanted from Manny wasn't his attitude, it was his talent. I could care less about all the rest of the baggage he bought, and feel like the fans of LA felt the same way. We just wanted a chance to feel good about our team.
So is Manny selfish as I have already stated? Him doing steroids (as I think we can all agree even without physical proof, that he did) was a selfish act, that selfishly landed him a 50 game suspension, and selfishly hurt his teammates and his perception of a savior for the franchise. So yes, Manny is absolutely the definition of selfish.
But here's the thing. I do care that Manny is out for 50 games. Not because the club will miss his personality, or his leadership. I care that we will miss his talent. He his the best hitter of this generation, let alone one of the best hitters ever to play the game. Roids doesn't give you better hand eye coordiantion. He's just that good at what he does. Manny Ramirez: Professional Hitter.
So Manny, I will miss your bat, maybe your dreads, and you're helmet flipping off your head as you round third base trying to score a run. What I won't miss is your selfishness. I will be patient and wait your return on July 3rd. The Dodgers will still be in first, but with the return of Manny, the Dodgers will win the World Series. You have to believe as a Dodgers fan don't you? Otherwise, you're not a true fan.
Tuesday, May 19, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment